Ford F150 Forumz banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi guys,

im new to this and you've all probably heard this a million times, but my 2007 f150 5.4 liter lar. has a nasty ticking noise at all times. all the plugs and coils are new and just had the dealer replace phasers and sensors under my extended warranty. They gave the truck back and said the noise was typical. If the noise was typical, why would they change the phasers and sensors? could it be valves, injectors, or exhaust? if i plug the muffler it doesnt get louder so i didnt think it was exhaust. should i try sea foam and if the noise changes at all, aim my efforts at injectors? Any advice would be appreciated. thanks!

·
Registered
2013 F-150 XLT 4WD with 5L
1,778 Posts
It could be lifter noise and maybe the Seafoam could help. When was the last oil change and what oil weight are you using?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Phasers and VCT solenoids generally cause a diesel sounding knocking/ticking. I've got to replace those on my truck still. When's the noise heard? Worse when cold or hot, or at a certain RPM? Lifters would be a good bet, but I'd rule out something simple like a exhaust leak, too. The Passenger side Manifolds are known for breaking studs, and of course that's the side that's a bear to get to.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hello New to this forum But just today My 2005 f150 went in for bad ticking niose at start up then all the time i was on the gas The ford dealer told me it was a bad pass side exhaust manifold I thought it was in the engine Just sayin have it checked, my truck has 80,000 miles I'm original owner

·
Registered
5 Posts
Mr. Mac, What solenoid or vacuum operated valve would make a ticking sound?

I'd take a length of Hard rubber garden hose and go 'megaphoning' around that engine compartment till I found that Ticking noise.
A broom handle works well too.

·
Registered
2013 F-150 XLT 4WD with 5L
1,778 Posts